THE CASTLE AT TARRYTOWN
The Castle at Tarrytown commands the highest hill in southern Westchester, and overlooks the Hudson River. It was designed by Henry Kilburn to emulate a Norman Castle, and built in 1897 of gray granite quarried on site; stone walls are as thick as four feet in places. In 1905, a two story addition was constructed with a chapel-style banquet room, bringing the total building area to 25,000 sf. During the Depression, the estate was sold and converted into offices.
The main objective of the project was to transform the original building into an inn with guest suites, a restaurant, and a place for parties and conferences. We designed a new guest-room wing compatible with the original building, and restored the original Norman castle to accommodate its new functions.
The 11-acre site has also been transformed. Nestled into the hillside are parking areas, trails, and a tennis court. On the south slope overlooking the Hudson River, there is a new swimming pool, spa and bath house, and a grotto-style restaurant carved into the hillside.
The Castle at Tarrytown